Cooking for one continues: easy fig and pork ragout

healthy pork and fig recipe

After my first successful night of cooking for one, I was excited to try another new recipe tonight that I saw over at The Healthy Foodie. I love a good healthy pork recipe, but I’ve struggled a bit with cooking pork in the past. I finally realized that I was cooking pork on too low of a temperature (stovetop), and now I think I’ve finally found the sweet spot on my stove to make pork turn out perfectly 🙂

I love pork in sweet dishes, so I was initially drawn to this recipe by the fig and pork combination. Also, I’m a sucker for caramelized onions…I was practically drooling as I wrote my grocery list!

Embarrassing confession #4214: I think tonight was the first time I ever bought figs–I wasn’t even sure how to pick out the good ones at Monoprix. I’ve had plenty of fig jams and fig tarts, but I realized that until today I had never actually prepared figs myself. Definitely a shame, I’ve been missing out! Like Sonia says, they’re not only delicious but they’re also beautiful, adding a pleasant splash of color to the recipe.

This pork recipe is already a new favorite of mine–it’s super easy, quick, and uses natural, healthy ingredients. Yes! I modified Sonia’s recipe to make only one portion, and I used thyme instead of rosemary because that’s what I had on hand.  Otherwise, I followed the Healthy Foodie recipe exactly. I’m going to paste it below, I hope Sonia doesn’t mind! Be sure to check out her blog, she has loads of great recipes!

Pork and Fig Ragout from The Healthy Foodie
Serves 2

Ingredients
2 tbsp olive oil
300g pork loin or tenderloin, cut into ½” chunks and patted dry
6 fresh figs, cut in half
1 large onion, sliced
¼ cup balsamic vinegar
1 cup water, divided
Salt and pepper to taste
•2 tbsp fresh rosemary, chopped (I used 1 t dried thyme)

Instructions
1. Heat oil in a medium sized skillet over medium heat
2. When pan is hot, add pork and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Sear until nice and golden brown on all sides (About 4 minutes maybe?)
3. Remove pork and set aside. Add onions, salt and pepper. Cook until softened and slightly golden, about 2 minutes.
4. Add ¼ cup of water and continue cooking until water is completely evaporated. Add another ¼ cup of water and this time, continue cooking past the point of complete evaporation, until the onions take a nice caramel color.
5. Add the balsamic vinegar and remaining ½ cup of water as well as chopped rosemary and cook over medium heat until liquid becomes nice and thick.
6. Return pork to the pan, stir in fresh figs and cook until heated through, about one minute.

I served the pork ragout with a side of oven roasted green beans (drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and minced garlic, and roast in the oven at 425 F / 200 C for about 12 minutes).

pork recipe healthy

Success! The only bad part about cooking for one is that it takes so much less time to eat than it does to prepare a meal…

What’s your favorite pork recipe?

Leave a Reply

