Cooking for one: easy mushroom stroganoff

vegetarian stroganoff recipe

Alex is out of town for work this week, so I’m living the single girl life for a few days. At one time, this meant eating cereal or PB&J for dinner to avoid the “cooking for one” scenario, but I’ve changed my outlook a bit. Now, I view my evenings alone as an opportunity to try new recipes and to prepare dinners that I wouldn’t normally make if Alex was home…namely, vegetarian recipes.

I saw this healthy mushroom stroganoff recipe recently and had saved it to try at some point. Easy, cheap, healthy and delicious…definitely one for the recipe book!

I followed the Skinnytaste mushroom stroganoff recipe almost exactly, though I served it with quinoa instead of pasta. I did this for the nutrition benefits, but I wouldn’t advise it if you’re serving this stroganoff to company as the aesthetic isn’t so appealing….the taste is amazing though! I also used a bit less butter and omitted the tomato paste.

Beef stroganoff is one of my favorite recipes that my mom used to make when I was growing up, but I honestly didn’t miss the beef in this dish. I realized that it was the combination of mushrooms/cream/wine sauce that I love, not the meat!
healthy mushroom stroganoff
Here’s the recipe:
Healthy mushroom stroganoff adapted from Skinnytaste
Makes 2 hearty servings

2/3 tablespoon butter (10 g)
1/2 cup chopped onion
2 tbsp unbleached all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups beef or vegetable broth
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
16 oz (225 g) chopped fresh mushrooms (a blend would be great)
1/4 tsp thyme
Salt and pepper to taste
2 tbsp white wine or sherry
1/4 cup reduced-fat sour cream
Noodles, rice, quinoa or etc. for serving

1)   Cook noodles, rice, quinoa, or etc. according to package directions.
2)   While the water is starting to boil, heat a large skillet over medium heat and add butter to melt. Add onions and cook for 2-3 minutes.
3)   Add flour slowly, and stir for 30 seconds or so.  Gradually add the broth and Worcestershire sauce, stirring constantly.
4)   Add mushrooms, thyme, salt, and pepper and cook for 4-5 minutes or until sauce bubbles and begins to thicken.
5)   Add wine and bring the mixture to a boil. Turn down the heat and simmer for 4 minutes. Remove from heat and let stand 30 seconds before adding cream.  Toss with noodles/rice/quinoa and garnish with fresh parsley if desired.

I ate half of the stroganoff and saved the rest for lunch tomorrow, yum! What do you do when you’re cooking for one?

3 thoughts on “Cooking for one: easy mushroom stroganoff

  1. This sounds like my favorite beef stroganoff recipe, without the meat. The only difference is that I add a tsp of Dijon mustard. I’m not a big meat fan, but I am a mushroom fan. I’ll do what you did and make two meals of it.

  2. Pingback: Cooking for one continues: easy fig and pork ragout | The Baguette Diet

Leave a Reply

