Healthy chicken, mushroom and wild rice recipe

It’s officially autumn which, in my book, means not just pumpkin galore but also a return to warm comfort food after a summer of salads. After last night’s splurge at Blues Bar-B-Q, I was excited to enjoy a weekend of natural, healthy recipes. This easy recipe for chicken, mushrooms and wild rice was something that Alex and I improvised based on the ingredients we found at the grocery store.
healthy mushroom and wild rice

Monoprix had a great selection of mushrooms today, yay! Normally it’s just the white (button) ones. We bought cèpes, shiitake, and girolle (chanterelle) mushrooms. Since we only got a couple of each, it wasn’t expensive at all. I foresee plenty of wild mushroom risottos and pasta dishes in our future!

I learned recently that washing mushrooms with water is a big no-no, so I used a potato peeler to peel off one layer of the mushroom skin (stems) and wiped them off with a damp cloth. That was actually the longest part of this recipe–I cooked the chicken in the slow cooker all day, and the mushrooms cooked in about 5 minutes. I’m sure you could bake the chicken instead of using a slow cooker, but I love how tender the chicken gets in the Crock Pot.

Next time I think I’ll serve the chicken and wild rice along with a spinach salad to have a few more nutrients…no veggies tonight 😦 (besides the mushrooms of course)

Here’s the recipe:

Healthy slow-cooker chicken and wild rice

– Two boneless chicken breasts
– Herbs of your choice for the spice rub (I used thyme, oregano, sage, garlic, salt, and pepper)
– 3 T olive oil
– 1 cube chicken bouillon (optional)
– 1 very small onion, chopped fine
– 1 clove garlic, minced
– 1 heaping cup fresh mushrooms, chopped into large pieces (I used cèpes, shittake, and chanterelle mushrooms)
– 3 T flour
– 1/4 c dry white wine (optional)

1) Press herbs into chicken breasts on both sides. Spread a bit of olive oil in the bottom of slow cooker to prevent sticking, and lay chicken in the bottom of the dish. Cover with water and add the chicken bouillon cube. **Note: you could also use chicken broth instead of water.** Cook on low for 8 hours or until chicken is cooked through.

2) One hour before serving, make a smooth paste out of the wine and flour. If you don’t use wine, just use the liquid from the slow cooker. Stir the paste into the slow cooker mixture to thicken sauce.

3) Cook rice according to package directions. I like to make rice pilaf by sautéing the dry rice in about 1 T of olive oil for two minutes before adding the water.

4) Meanwhile, heat 1 T of olive oil in a large skillet. Cook the onion and garlic until onion is transparent, about 5 minutes. Remove from pan and set aside.

5) In the same pan, cook mushrooms on high heat for about 5 minutes, or until water has evaporated and the mushrooms produce a nutty odor.

5) Mix the cooked rice with onion, garlic, and mushrooms. Serve chicken over the bed of rice with plenty of sauce poured over.

crock pot chicken and wild rice

Happy autumn lovelies!

3 thoughts on “Healthy chicken, mushroom and wild rice recipe

  1. Pingback: Homemade pumpkin butter: easy healthy pumpkin recipe :) | The Baguette Diet

  2. I will definitely be making this for my husband! I am so with you on the comfort foods rather than pumpkin everything. My crockpot got dusted off the moment the weather got a bit cooler. It’s been all about soups ever since.

  3. I love a good crockpot recipe! I think it’s the best kitchen invention of all time. There’s nothing better than walking in after a long day at work to the wonderful smell of dinner ready to serve. I can’t wait to try this one.

Leave a Reply

