Homemade pumpkin butter: easy healthy pumpkin recipe :)

Fall is my favorite season in Alabama–crisp mornings, sunshine-filled afternoons, college football, and pumpkin, in all of its forms (so original, I know…)!

microwave pumpkin butter recipe

Unfortunately, fall in Paris isn’t quite the same. The sky is already turning its winter grey, no one enjoys American football, and pumpkin isn’t at the top of everyone’s shopping list. That’s why I like to turn to my favorite fall recipes this time of year–to enjoy the flavors of the season, but also to fight homesickness!

I’ve seen a few varieties of pumpkin popping up in the Paris grocery stores, but there’s no canned pumpkin available unless you’re willing to spend a fortune at an American grocery store. Luckily I still had a can of Libby’s pumpkin that I brought back from my last trip to the U.S., but for the rest of the season I might have to get ambitious with a real pumpkin or two.

I honestly like plain pumpkin mixed with cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves just as much as pumpkin pie/muffins/cake/whatever other pumpkin-related dessert you can think of. That’s why pumpkin butter is one of my absolute favorite foods to eat by the spoonful on toast, in oatmeal, yogurt….the list goes on.

This breakfast was completely inspired by my favorite food blogger, Kath Eats Real Food. Today was a workout day, so I wanted to make sure I had some protein, hence the egg. The bread is organic whole wheat (pain intégral) fresh from the Naturalia bakery. I got the pumpkin butter recipe from Kath as well–it only takes a few minutes to throw together and makes a boring breakfast 100x better!

healthy pumpkin butter recipe

I had to change a few things based on available ingredients and personal taste, but the method is the same as Kath’s.

Easy homemade pumpkin butter

1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup water
2 t cinnamon
1 t nutmeg
.5 t ground cloves
Splash of vanilla
1 15 oz can pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)

1) Combine the sugar, water, and spices in a bowl and microwave on high for 2 minutes. Stir well.
2) Mix in the pumpkin and microwave on high for 5 minutes.  Stir and let sit for a minute or two–it will burn!

Store in a jar in the refrigerator and eat with toast, fruit, oatmeal, yogurt, pancakes, biscuits, angel food cake…the options are endless!

3 thoughts on “Homemade pumpkin butter: easy healthy pumpkin recipe :)

  1. Pingback: Healthy chicken, mushroom and wild rice recipe | The Baguette Diet

Leave a Reply

