One day in Dubrovnik

I promise not to bore you with a play by play of our recent Royal Caribbean cruise, but I thought I’d do another post or two about some of the places we visited. We took the Splendour of the Seas cruise to Dubrovnik, Corfu, Santorini, Athens, and Katakolon (departing from Venice). In general I’d say that most of the ports were 1) very beautiful and 2) very touristy.

I had been to Greece on a cruise before, but this was my first time in Croatia. I couldn’t wait to see Dubrovnik! The Dubrovnik cruise port is a short taxi ride (10 euros) from the Old Town, which is where we spent our day. We started off by walking the old city walls, around two kilometers of breathtaking views of the city and the sea.

cruise to dubrovnik

This was by far my favorite part of Dubrovnik, and I’d recommend it to anyone (though be warned that there are a lot of stairs–over 1,000–and it can get very, very hot).

We were starving by the time we finished, so we walked around the Old Town to look for an authentic local Croatian café. Unfortunately, every restaurant we saw seemed really touristy with menus in 6+ languages and sunburned tourists eating pizzas on the terraces.

royal caribbean cruise dubrovnik

Finally we settled for a café called Mea Culpa that had enormous calzones. Alex had one of these on his last trip to Croatia at a different restaurant a couple of years ago and remembered it being delicious. I tasted a bite and thought it was good…but to me it just tasted like pizza honestly.

mea culpa dubrovnik calzone

I was surprised to see that Croatian food is quite similar to Italian cuisine with risottos and pizzas on almost every menu. It was also very seafood heavy, of course! I settled for a mushroom risotto…after walking the city walls, I thought it would be ok to indulge!

risotto mea culpa dubrovnik

The food was fine, nothing spectacular, though perhaps I was a bit put off by finding half a toothpick in my risotto…yuck!

After we ate, we tried to do a bit of souvenir shopping but couldn’t find anything that was unique to Dubrovnik—just the same T shirts, magnets, ballpoint pens, and etc. that you can buy anywhere. It didn’t take long to see the rest of the Old Town as it’s quite small. There were some really lovely streets, but a couple of hours was plenty of time.

dubrovnik one day

I think that a cruise to Dubrovnik was a good way to visit the city, as it’s not a place I’d want to stay for more than a day or so. Maybe if we had more time we could have taken a boat to one of the islands close by for some beach time, but other than that I feel like I got a good impression of the city in just a few hours.

Have you been to Dubrovnik? What did you think?

2 thoughts on “One day in Dubrovnik

  1. Did you find plenty of ‘game of thrones’ memorabilia there? I’ve never heard of the town until the TV series came out, it’s been on my top ‘to visit’ list ever since.

    • Surprisingly there wasn’t that much Game of Thrones stuff in the old town, maybe they’re trying to keep the show from defining the city? I actually didn’t even know that Game of Thrones was filmed in Dubrovnik until AFTER we left (I’ve never seen the series)!

Leave a Reply

