Finally…frozen yogurt in Paris thanks to Rosa Kiwi

I remember back in high school when the first mix-in frozen yogurt shop opened in my hometown. Everyone was going crazy about it! Now, almost ten years later, that place has gone out of business and been replaced by at least a dozen frozen yogurt shops competing to offer the widest variety of flavors and the most original “mix-ins.” Sadly, though, I still couldn’t manage to find mint-flavored yogurt the last time I was home. Maybe next time?

Back in France, I have to say that Parisians LOVE their ice cream during the summer. I have colleagues who, during our two week “heat wave” where temperatures were in the 90s (F), simply couldn’t function until someone went to Monoprix and came back with ice creams on a stick. Don’t get me wrong, I definitely enjoy a Magnum from time to time…but the quality isn’t exactly stellar and it feels like a waste of sugar and calories sometimes.

That’s why, when one of my American expat friends told me about Rosa Kiwi on rue Mouffetard, I couldn’t wait to give it a try.

ROSA KIWI PARIS

I honestly prefer the texture of frozen yogurt to ice cream, and I couldn’t wait to see what kind of flavors Rosa Kiwi had available. They have six “parfums” at a time. When we went, there was original, green tea, lime, strawberry, vanilla, and chocolate.  The cashier was super friendly and happy to explain the different flavors in English or French, and she even let us take a sample before we made our choice. I was a little disappointed by the limited flavor variety…where was the cookies and cream? Cake batter? Salted caramel? However, I guess introducing Parisians to the joys of frozen yogurt is best done one step at a time.

After the yogurt base (it’s self-serve, so you can mix and match and take as many flavors as you want), there are the toppings. Again, the choice wasn’t as large as at most places in the U.S. but was more than adequate with fruit, cookie crumbles, cereals, and candy to choose from.

Rosa Kiwi frozen yogurt paris

I went for original + green tea yogurt with granola, strawberries, and raspberries. Yum! At the end, just like at Yogurt Mountain or Pinkberry, you pay by the weight. Mine ended up costing more than 5 euros…oops! I think you can also choose to have your yogurt on a waffle or a crêpe if you prefer, which might be nicer in the winter time.

At Rosa Kiwi you can eat inside in the adorable little dining area or outside on the terrace. We didn’t have a lot of time, though, so we just took ours to go. It was really good, tasted exactly like I imagined. I’ll have to keep an eye out for the new flavors!

frozen yogurt paris

Given the Parisians’ love of ice cream and inherent skinny-ness, I’ll be very surprised if frozen yogurt doesn’t become the next American trend in Paris!

Have a great weekend everyone!

One thought on “Finally…frozen yogurt in Paris thanks to Rosa Kiwi

  1. There’s also a spot in the Marais that’s been doing frozen yogurt for a while now….I blogged about it a while back, think it was called the Yogurt Factory??

Leave a Reply

