Tomato mozzarella quiche

Healthy quiche recipes are easy to find, but, for me, are slightly harder to implement. I was a little obsessed with authentic French quiche when I first moved to Paris, and I still love a proper quiche Lorraine every now and then! Needless to say, all of that cream and bacon isn’t for every day. I often make crustless quiches for quick and healthy weeknight dinners, but my (French) boyfriend naturally prefers his quiche with plenty of pastry.

As a compromise, I invented this recipe for a tomato mozzarella quiche from this goat cheese quiche recipe.  The light ingredients almost make up for the crust, and it tastes great without seeming too “diety.” Even my boyfriend said he thought this was the best quiche I’ve ever made…and he can be a tough critic!

I’m still trying to master quiche/pie crusts…and any advice would be much appreciated! I always poke holes in my crust, put it in the freezer for a few minutes, and then blind bake the crust before adding the filling. Even with all of that, though, my crusts still sometimes puff up or shrink. Any tips?

This one actually turned out ok, though I had to put foil on the edges as they were starting to get a bit too brown while the quiche was baking.

healthy quiche

Here’s the recipe:

Tomato mozzarella quiche recipe, adapted from Marmiton

1 pate brisée or refrigerated pie crust
100 g bacon or lardons (turkey bacon works great, or leave out altogether for fewer calories)
2 tomatoes
1  mozzarella ball (I used light mozzarella)
2 eggs
10 cl light cream
Sprinkle of basil, parsley, salt, pepper, and oregano

1)   Blind bake the pate brisée for 10-15 minutes at 200 degrees C
2)   Fry the bacon on the stove over medium heat until brown and cooked through.
3)   Slice the tomatoes and chop the mozzarella, making sure to remove all excess water!
4)   Place the bacon, then the chopped mozzarella, then the sliced tomatoes in the bottom of the prebaked crust.
5)   Beat the eggs and cream together. Stir in the spices and pour mixture over the tomatoes and cheese
6)   Top with shredded parmesan or gruyere cheese if desired. (I didn’t do this)
7)   Bake for 30-35 minutes or until center is set and quiche is golden brown on top.

Note: Cover the edges of the crust with foil if they start to get too brown while baking.

Serve with a simple salad (in France, salad = lettuce) or fresh summer vegetables.

So this quiche isn’t as diet as they come, but it’s packed with fresh, real ingredients and leaves you satisfied. In my book, that’s always the way to go!

Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

