Homemade whipped peanut butter

I am a peanut butter addict. Peanut butter cookies, peanut butter pie, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, peanut butter burgers…need I continue?

Ever since I started paying more attention to my diet, I swapped my Jif and Skippy for peanut purée—peanuts puréed into paste with no added sugar. The texture is a bit more liquid than regular peanut butter, but I honestly haven’t missed the sweetness. In fact, now I even prefer the taste of peanut purée to peanut butter and love using it as a source of protein.

My all-natural peanut “butter” isn’t cheap (4.75 euros at Naturalia, a French organic food store), but sadly that’s not much more expensive than regular peanut butter here in France. After my homemade sun dried tomato experiment over the weekend, I looked into making my own peanut butter in the blender…but buying peanuts would set me back just as much as buying peanut purée and cost a lot more effort (and maybe my blender as well!)

However, when I read the recent Hungry Girl newsletter about Jif whipped peanut butter, I was struck with yet another bizarre cooking idea….what if I tried making my own whipped peanut butter with a hand mixer? I could stretch my peanut purée to last a little longer and drastically cut the calories per serving. After all, even without the added sugar, peanut purée is high in fat and calories. So I went to Google and found this recipe for whipped peanut butter.

homemade whipped peanut butter

I followed the recipe exactly, except for using my peanut purée instead of peanut butter. I was worried that it would be too watery, but it ended up just fine. The color was darker than I expected, and I found the whipped peanut butter a bit hard to spread after being stored in the refrigerator overnight…it might be best left in the pantry, at least for the first few days. The whipped peanut butter tastes great, though, and I think I’ll keep doing this whenever I buy a new jar of peanut purée.

Any other ideas for lightening up peanut butter? I’d love some more inspiration!

2 thoughts on “Homemade whipped peanut butter

  1. This sounds great.. As a mom, I like the nutrition you get from a PB&J sandwich in your child’s lunchbox without the unnecessary sugar.

  2. Pingback: Baked plantains…aka healthier tostones | The Baguette Diet

Leave a Reply

