Guiltless chocolate mug cake

Chocolate cake with no eggs, oil, or sugar that’s ready in one minute. What more could you ask for?

Mug cakes are nothing new, but most of them pack in calories with egg, oil, and sugar.  I don’t know about you, but if I want to indulge, I’m going to do it properly (aka with a homemade eclair from the bakery downstairs).  Mug cakes are convenient and offer an easy way to satisfy a dessert craving, but I don’t think anyone could argue that they’re really gourmet.

That’s why I prefer to make healthy single-serve desserts: nothing fancy, just an easy sweet treat without any guilt afterwards.

I searched online for healthy mug cake recipes, but many of them called for ingredients that are hard to find in Paris, like special flours, sugar or egg substitutes, or nonfat Greek yogurt. I decided to invent my own recipe using only ingredients that I had on hand.

Using banana instead of oil in the cake gives it a fudge-like texture that everyone might not appreciate. I love dense cakes, though, so it didn’t bother me. The banana gave enough sweetness for me that I didn’t feel the need to add any sugar, but that might not be the case for everyone.

Here’s how the chocolate mug cake looked right after cooking:

guiltless chocolate mug cake

 

Not too pretty…I decided to let the mug cake cool for a couple of minutes, then serve it on a plate with a few raspberries on top to add another flavor dimension.

healthy mug cake

The cake was still a little rough around the edges…next time I’ll spray the ramekin with Smart Balance before “baking.” All in all, though, I was happy with how it turned out and will definitely be making this guiltless chocolate mug cake again. Be warned: you can definitely taste the banana, so if you aren’t a fan of the banana/chocolate combination in desserts than substituting applesauce for the banana may be a better idea.

80 calorie chocolate fudge cake

– 2 T all-purpose flour
– 1/4 t baking powder
– Pinch of salt
– 1 t cocoa powder (100%)
– 3/4 T mashed ripe banana
– 2 T skim milk

Mix dry ingredients in a small mug or ramekin until no lumps remain.  Add the banana and skim milk and mix well, making sure that there are no clumps of banana or flour.

Microwave on high for 55 seconds or until done. Do not overcook!

Serve with fresh berries or whipped cream, if desired.

Serves 1
Calories: 80

Nutrition info available here.

2 thoughts on “Guiltless chocolate mug cake

Leave a Reply

