Whole wheat lemon poppy seed cake

This weekend has been all about resting up and preparing for the weeks to come, when I’ll be taking my last semester of MBA classes while still working as many hours as possible…yikes! I’m ready to finally have my degree and to have a change of routine, but I know it’s going to be an intense couple of months.

Last night Sherin came over for vegetarian lasagna and a catch-up session, complete with Friends and a double portion of angel food cake. I don’t see my friends in Paris nearly as often as I’d like, mostly because we all live so far apart, so I was glad to have some much-need girl time.

This morning I got up and went to check out the organic food market in Boulogne-Billancourt, which ended up being just 5 or 6 tables…so disappointing! I did some grocery shopping at Monoprix and hit the gym for a Body Pump class before coming home and catching up with friends and family from back home.

Since I had some time this afternoon, I decided to try a recipe for whole wheat lemon poppy seed cake that I saved a while ago. I don’t make desserts very often, and I thought that lemon poppy seed cake might make a good breakfast before work/school this week.

whole wheat lemon poppy seed cake

I was happy enough with the result–each piece only has just over 100 calories, and the nutrition from the wheat flour and poppy seeds will be great on a workout morning. However, baking with whole wheat flour makes cakes turn out rather dense, so I think if I was making lemon poppy seed cake for company, then I’d choose an original recipe for some fluffy, buttery goodness.

Healthy whole wheat lemon poppy seed cake

Ingredients
Cake:
1 1/2 cups  whole-wheat pastry flour
1 cup  all-purpose flour
1/4 cup poppy seeds, toasted
1 1/2 teaspoons  baking powder
1/2 teaspoon  baking soda
1/4 teaspoon  salt
1 cup  buttermilk, (I used skim milk + extra lemon juice since I haven’t found buttermilk in France)
1/4 cup oil
1 teaspoon  vanilla extract
2 tablespoons  freshly grated lemon zest
2 tablespoons  lemon juice
2 large eggs, at room temperature
2 large egg whites, at room temperature
1 1/4 cups  sugar (I used stevia)
Glaze (I didn’t make this, though maybe I should have):
3/4 cup  confectioners’ sugar , plus more for dusting
3 tablespoons  lemon juice
1 tablespoon  water
Instructions
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F/175 C. Coat a loaf pan or Bundt pan with cooking spray and dust with flour.
2. Whisk together whole wheat flour, all-purpose flour, poppy seeds, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl. Combine buttermilk, oil, vanilla, lemon zest and lemon juice in a glass measuring cup.
3. Beat eggs, egg whites and sugar/stevia in a large bowl with an electric mixer on high speed until thickened and pale, about 5 minutes.
4. Fold the dry ingredients into the egg mixture with a rubber spatula, a third at a time, alternating with 2 additions of the buttermilk mixture. Scrape the batter into the prepared pan, spreading evenly.
5. Bake the cake until the top springs back when touched lightly and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, 35 to 40 minutes. Let cool in the pan for 5 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack.
6. To prepare glaze: Sift 3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar into a small bowl; mix with lemon juice and water to create a thin glaze. Poke 1-inch-deep holes all over the cake with a skewer. Coat the warm cake with the glaze using a pastry brush. Let cool completely. To serve, set the cake on a serving plate and dust with confectioners’ sugar.
Nutrition info here (I made a half recipe but the nutrition facts per portion are the same).
This healthy lemon poppy seed cake recipe was taken from Fitness magazine. What do you think about substituting whole wheat flour in dessert recipes?
One thought on “Whole wheat lemon poppy seed cake

Leave a Reply

